I recently finished putting together my crocheted fox hat. I was really proud of it and pleased with how it came out. I’ve worn it all over the place. However, people keep seeing it and thinking it’s a cat hat.

Now, yeah… cats are more popular than foxes and I didn’t go with the normal “red body, black ears” of your typical fox – opting for more of a silver fox coloring. However, cats don’t typically have dark ears with white fluffy fur in them. All the cats I know of have matching hair inside and outside of their ears.

Someone suggested that I fold the ears a bit – make them less open – so they would greater resemble fox ears. That might work. I really had trouble placing the ears, though… I don’t really want to take them off and try to get them back on again a third time. I guess I’ll play it by… well, ear. If I have enough time to mess with the ears before Halloween, I’ll do so. Otherwise, they’ll remain as they are.