“You saw who attacked them?” Larissa said.

I flinched at her sharp tone. I looked up at her, forcing myself to make eye contact. Her eyes seemed to bore into mine the moment I did so. I swallowed thickly and nodded. “They were like… beasts,” I said, my voice faint. “Very like oni, but more frightful. They fell upon the women so suddenly that none of them stood a chance.”

“No,” Selena said. I looked up at her. Her eyes seemed to blaze with fury. “No, those women were skilled warriors. No one could take them so easily without the use of magic.” She shot Wolff a glare.

“It’s the truth,” I snapped. I tensed when she turned that fiery gaze on me. My hands balled into fists in my lap. I couldn’t back down now. I needed to be brave. I squeezed my eyes shut and said, “In the vision, they were complaining of stomach pain. They may have been ill. That might have made them… vulnerable.”

Silence greeted my words. I sighed and forced my eyes opened once more. Larissa looked shocked – horrified. Selena was frowning. She wasn’t happy, but she wasn’t questioning my words anymore.

**

Comment, so I know you exist…