For the entire month of February, Yarnspirations had a crochet along running where you were supposed to craft a scarf – day by day – based on your mood for that day.  It was a lot of fun, even though I didn’t get started until the seventh.  I’m a deeply emotional person, but I seldom really think about what my mood is on a particular day.  So, I found it to be a good growth experience for me.

The one thing that I noticed was that there was no color for a negative mood.  There was a color for relaxed (persimmon), a color for creative (pistachio), a color for energetic (gold), a color for optimistic (off-white), a color for bold (berry blue), a color for content (lavender blue) and even a color for neutral (taupe).  I decided that, for those days when my mood wasn’t going to fit into any of those, I’d used Victorian rose.  They had other color palettes for jewel-tones and brights, but the softer shades fit with my personality better.

Ultimately, I didn’t use the Victorian rose very often, but I’m glad that I included it in my palette.  There are just days when my mood wasn’t great (I was tired or grouchy or impatient) and, by having my own color category for that mood, I felt free to feel that way.  You know, there’s nothing wrong with having a bad day once in a while.  The trick is to not dwell on those bad days.  Accept that that day wasn’t good and maybe tomorrow will be better (generally, it was!).

So… would I do something like this again?  I certainly would.  I love the crochet alongs that Yarnspiration comes out with and these little ones where I have a specific goal for each day or each week are much easier than the ones where they’re like, “Let’s make a bag this month!”  Those tend to get away from me and I just never finish them.

I’ll be posting my mood scarf once it’s complete.