I recently started working my way through a book called Biblical Bits for Knit-Wits.  It’s rather a clever title for a self-guided Bible study.  Each chapter has a pattern for a knitted block that reminds you of the lesson for the week (it’s meant to be a 12-week long study).

So far, I’ve made a garter stitch block (God is constant – always the same, like knitting each row), a stockinette stitch block (the purl bumps remind us of irritations that God turns into something beautiful) and a ribbed block (by His stripes, we are healed).  This week, I’m working on a basket weave block that is meant to remind us that God provides for our needs.

I love how each block reinforces the lesson.  I also like that the blocks are relatively simple to make.  I’m not a great knitter and none of these blocks are going to have super complex patterns (like cables) – just things that can be made with the basic stitches that a beginner might know.

My only problem so far is that I have to pay attention to what color I’m supposed to use.  When I finish the blocks, they’ll be stitched together to form a blanket with a cross at the center.  Perhaps because there are two different sizes for the blanket (one with 24 blocks, one with just 12), they aren’t laid out in the same order as you craft them.

Still, I’m feeling pretty good about my progress, so far.  I’m hoping to have it finished by the end of September.  If I can manage to do a block each week, that’s a pretty attainable goal.