Biblical Bits for Knit-Wits: Knitting the Story of God's Love for YouBiblical Bits for Knit-Wits: Knitting the Story of God’s Love for You by Summer Mungle

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’ve been blogging about this book as I worked my way through the patterns. Technically, I still have one square left to make, before I stitch them all together and edge my blanket/lapghan. However, I’ve finished the reading portion of the project, so I feel like I can review the book now.

I really liked the format of the book. There is a short reading, interspersed with Bible verses. This is followed by questions designed to get you thinking. Then, at the end of the chapter, you have a knitted square that relates back to the lesson in some way.

I liked that some of the verses weren’t the ones you see all over the place. I also liked some of the lessons – which sometimes dealt with tough subjects, like the Trinity. It worked great to do on my own, but I could also see it being done as a group. All in all, I was able to finish each square within the week expected by the creators of the study. Even things like the honeycomb stitch (which requires a cable needle) is explained in terms that someone like me could follow.

Some critiques: a few of the patterns had errors in them – none were undo-able, even for someone like me (I’m an advanced beginner with knitting). However, it’s something to be aware of, if you want to do this Bible study. Sometimes, the reading comes across as… a bit judgmental. A couple times – out of the 12 lessons – I read something that rubbed me the wrong way.

At the same time – in spite of these critiques – I’m really glad that I undertook this challenge. I feel like I learned more about both the Bible and my own faith (which really is the point of any Bible Study).

View all my reviews