My sister and I arrived bright and early – at about 8:30 AM. We were on line and ready to go inside the fairgrounds ten minutes later. I was really excited. It was my first Sheep and Wool Festival and my first Ravelry meet-up all in one day.

When they finally let us inside the gates, they made use wait. It was rather amusing to be herded through the gates and then stand there, milling around. It reminded Heidi of the sheep we were there to see.

A cheer went up as they allowed us to move inward. Then people scattered to the four winds. Some went on to see the sheep and alpacas right away. Others headed off to classes or demonstrations. Heidi and I headed off to find the craft vendors.

I don’t think I’ve ever seen so much yarn in my life! Some of it was brightly colored and some of it was natural. There were solids and ombres. There was raw wool, for those who wanted to spin their own yarn. Everywhere, there seemed to be needles and hooks and other needlework tools. There were vendors with spindles and wheels for spinning the yarn. There were even vendors with buttons and yarn bowls (Next year!). Finally, I found someone who had nostepinnes! I looked over his selection and found a nice one for the right price. I’m not the proud owner of a nostepinne! I can hardly wait to use it.

About then, as we wandered through the fairgrounds, we encountered other Ravelers who mentioned Rhinebeck Bingo. Heidi and I found the booth that had the game boards and pins. Then, we set off to find the people on our sheets. It was a great time. I got to meet and speak with so many other Ravelers. By the time of the meet-up, I had three people marked on my sheet. At the meet-up, I got probably six more. I didn’t get Bingo, but I didn’t care. I had my prize already: The best day I’ve had in some time.