Sophie blinked rapidly and looked down at the human form she’d been given for this journey. It wasn’t so different from her normal body. There were a couple things, outwardly, that she noticed. However, they weren’t important.

She turned to Runecaster and rolled her eyes. “Stop it,” she said, snatching up the undergarments she had set aside for this moment.

“I can’t admire you, now?” Runecaster said, sounding vaguely dissappointed.

Sophie shook her head and then smoothed the fabric of the shift over her body. As she lifted the gown, she said, “We have more important things to focus on, Rune. Our son…” she trailed off and tears filled her eyes.

Runecaster wrapped his arms around her shoulders. “I’m sorry, my dove,” he murmured. “I’ll focus on the task at hand, you have my word on it. I promise you: we’ll find Malachi. Wherever in this world they’ve taken him, we’ll find him.”