Archive for March 21st, 2010

Scenario Three: Tired of the Always Puzzle of Living and Dying

Rune slipped again. Yori gasped and squeezed his eyes shut. “This isn’t getting us anywhere,” he said, his voice strained.

Suddenly, he had an idea. “Let go,” he said, briskly.

Something in his tone must have caught Rune’s attention. “You’re sure?” he asked.

Yori looked up at him. “I have an idea,” he said. “Let go. Now!”

As he said the word, Rune released his hands.

For a moment, Yori felt the air swirl around him. He inhaled and the air seemed to pillow under him. His descent slowed and then stopped. A moment later, he was floating in front of Rune.

Rune gave him a weak smile, then moved back from the cliff edge.

As Yori landed in front of him, he said, “Why do these things always have to be so complicated?”

“You tell me and we’ll both know,” Rune replied.

Foxes Fail Physics (or why it would work)

This is a follow-up to this

**

“I’m surprised it worked,” Yori said, as they moved back towards the village. “I thought for sure I’d pull you off with me.”

“Why?” Rune said.

Yori stopped to look at him. Rune frowned and shook his head. “You don’t weigh very much,” he said.

“I…” Yori started. His brows furrowed. Then he nodded as he realized what had happened. “Fox magic,” he said. He turned back towards the road and started off once more.

“What?” Rune said, sounding confused. Yori could hear him running to catch up. “What did I believe that shouldn’t have been possible?”

“Never mind!”

Rune made a frustrated sound. “Yori?”