Sophie stopped short as a form blocked her path. Her brows furrowed and then she looked up – way up – into the face of the man who’d stepped in front of her. She gave him a weak smile. “Excuse me,” she said.

“Aw,” he said, setting a hand on her shoulder, “why don’t you come sit with me, sweetie. I’ll show you a good time.” He leaned down to kiss her and Sophie could smell stale beer on his breath.

Her nose wrinkled, but her smile didn’t flinch. “No, thank you,” she said, shoving him away with surprising force. As he stumbled back, she nodded and swept through the doorway, into the common room, rolling her eyes.

“Are you all right, my dove?” a soft voice said, near her ear.

Sophie shook her head in frustration. “What’s with these people?” she groused. “You’d think they’d never seen a pretty girl before.” She glanced over her shoulder at her mate. “We have better things to do that play games with them.”

“I couldn’t agree more,” Runecaster said, giving her a sunny smile. He glanced over one shoulder and chuckled. “Looks like Romeo has come back for more, however.”

Sighing, Sophie spun back to face the drunk who had accosted her. Giving him the same cold smile, she said, “Do you have trouble with the word ‘no’, sir? I could put it another way, if the concept is too difficult for you to grasp.”

He stopped. “You’d rather be with this guy that me?” he said, waving at Runecaster. “What happened to his face? Look at him! You desearve better.”

Sophie laughed, drawing the attention of everyone in the tavern. Waving at her mate, she said, “He got that scar protecting me. You, sir, are a boor. I’d soon kiss a swine than you.” Then she spun away and took a seat at a table in the corner by the fireplace.

Several people in the room laughed and teased the man she’d yelled at. Runecaster sat down beside her, a bemused smile on his face. “Remind me never to cross you, my dove,” he said, taking her hand. “Your words cut like knives to the heart.”

“I try to protect my own,” Sophie said, her voice soft. Then she leaned forward and kissed his scarred cheek.